More than 4,000 scientists, agricultural professionals, educators and students from around the globe are expected to attend meetings of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. The scientific gatherings will be Oct. 21-24 in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The three societies will honor Donald Hodgkinson, Golden Opportunity Scholar. Hodgkinson, from Burlington, Colo., is a senior majoring in soil and crop sciences with a concentration in plant biotechnology, genetics and breeding. He plans to pursue a graduate degree in plant breeding after graduation in May. As a Golden Opportunity Scholar, Hodgkinson will take part in a special mentorship program during the scientific meetings to gain guidance, professional contacts and encouragement in his chosen career field.

Gianna Cassio was hired as a student hourly four years ago when she started as a freshman at CSU. She is a quick learner, an innovator and a dedicated employee who always has a smile on her face and a kind word to share. We were more than fortunate that she worked with us during her entire student career.

On May 12th Gianna graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Marketing. The department of Soil and Crop  Sciences commemorated this big event with a party in her honor. Gianna will be starting a part-time office job with Remax where she can begin to apply her marketing skills. She will continue working as a food server for the Beach House Grill Restaurant here in Fort Collins.

Thank you for everything Gianna! Congratulations, good luck and best of life to you!!!

As a result of its program’s excellence, CSU placed in the Final Four of Enviance’s first-ever Environmental March Madness Tournament for environmental studies, designed to evaluate colleges and universities on their academic and sustainability prowess as it relates to the environment.

Josh Alley is majoring in Agricultural Sciences with an emphasis in International Soils and a minor in Global Environmental Sustainability and International Development. He is most interested in agriculture as he believes it defines, transforms, frees, and binds countries. After graduating, Josh is looking to pursue at least one graduate degree before starting a sustainable development consulting firm with a focus on coastal Latin America and the Caribbean.

>> Full Story

May 4, 2012 was a celebration! Graduating seniors joined faculty and staff for a luncheon at Avo’s in their honor. Pictured are Robyn Barminski, Michael Baute, Cassandra Collins, Jessica Davis, Cody Dodsworth, Curtis Hildebrandt, Caitlin Huffman, Jiajia Liu, William Owsley, Miranda Sims, Karen Snider, and Matthew Yeager

Not pictured: Jon Brammer, Zach Burrows, Garrett Carman, Marin Chambers, Ashton Dilka, Sarah Dominick, Joseph Gale, Linda Halvorson, Oscar Jarquin, Robert Murphy, Cassie Rieser, Jessica Nicholson, Severine Vuillermoz, Craig Wilson, Laura Wilson

Congratulations everyone and best to you always!!!

An awards ceremony was held on Friday, April 27 to recognize outstanding graduate students. The recipients of these prestigious awards are:

Tak Tsuchiya Graduate Student Achievement Award – Annie Heiliger and Sue Latshaw

Dr. Pat Byrne with Annie Heiliger and Sue Latshaw

Hunter Follett Graduate Student Achievement Award – Garrett Jewett, Jordan Driscoll and Mohammed Naser


Dr. Neil Hansen, Garrett Jewett and Jordan Driscoll (not pictured Mohammed Naser)


Byrd Curtis Scholarship Award – Steve Becker


Byrd Curtis and Dr. Scott Haley with Steve Becker


Congratulations to all!!!

The Wheel Dogs, from left, Mike Sieg, Karen Allison, Larry Dawson and Roy Mita train for the upcoming Ride the Rockies that finishes in Fort Collins. / Dawn Madura/The Coloradoan

Karen Allison is preparing to ride the Rockies! The terrain includes some of Colorado’s finest, including five mountain passes, two national parks and 24,937 vertical feet of elevation gain.

 This June, for the first time since 1993, the ride will return to Fort Collins. Odell Brewing Co. will serve as the finish line for the six-day, 442-mile ride.

She belongs to a team called the Wheel Dogs, named after the two sled dogs that are directly in front of a sled and normally slower than the rest of the pack, is renowned on the tour for their signature sound.

“We have a distinctive bark we do on the ride,” he said. 

>>Full story on today’s front page of the Coloradoan.

Ride on Karen!

Jessica Davis, an undergraduate Soil and Crop Sciences major, was awarded “College Honors” for her presentation at CURC 2012 this week. Her poster was entitled ‘Comparison of Coleoptile Lengths in Synthetic-Derived Winter Wheat’. Jessica’s award will be celebrated this Thursday, April 19 at 5:30 PM in Johnson Hall 222 (South Entrance). Alice Madden (former Colorado House Majority Leader, Governor Chief of Staff, State Advisor on Climate Change, and current CU Wirth Chair) will provide the keynote address.

Please congratulate her! 2012 CURC Award Winners


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.